Portfolio Advisory Committees

The Portfolio Advisory Committees (PACs) will support strategy and policy development and will provide an opportunity for community input into Council decision making.

Each PAC is chaired by a Councillor, and is made up of community members from a diverse range of backgrounds, with knowledge and expertise in different areas. They meet for a minimum of three meetings per year over the four-year Council term, with additional meetings scheduled if required. 

Meet some of our committee members and find out why they got involved in this valuable opportunity:

The committees

Lifelong Learning

This committee will consider the development of the community from youth to old age, including advocating for people from all backgrounds.

Chair: Cr Narelle Sharpe

Community Wellbeing

Support thriving and resilient neighbourhoods including issues such as family violence, gender equity and safety.

Chair: Cr Jim Cusack

Access, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Supports an inclusive and diverse city including people with disability, ageing, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, multicultural and LGBTIQ communities.

Chair: Cr Cam Nation

Strategic Planning

Considers planning policy, urban design, affordable housing and multiuse community facilities while preserving Moonee Valley’s heritage.

Chair: Cr Nicole Marshall


Aims to create a low carbon, biodiverse and resource efficient city which manages open space, waterways and waste in a sustainable manner.

Chair: Cr Nicole Marshall

Business Promotion

This committee promotes business innovation and the visibility of local business to promote strong growth in our municipality.

Chair: Cr Richard Lawrence

Integrated Transport

Ensures Moonee Valley has safe and sustainable transport connections and advocates for our community on major transport proposals.

Chair: Cr Andrea Surace

Leisure and Active Communities

Promotes active lifestyles across Moonee Valley including leisure facilities, libraries, arts and cultural facilities, and parks and gardens.

Chair: Cr Samantha Byrne

Sports and Community

This committee will strengthen investment in sporting clubs and ensure the community has a range of options for organised sport.

Chair: Cr John Sipek

Future Communities

Advocates for vibrant and engaged neighbourhoods both through long term strategic initiatives and through festivals and events.

Chair: Cr Rebecca Gauci Maurici


Membership for the PACs has now been finalised. Expressions of interest were advertised in April/May 2017 and community members were appointed in June 2017.

More information on membership, PAC meeting agendas and minutes will be posted here in the coming months.

Meet our PAC members

What they love about Moonee Valley:

What they hope to achieve:

More information

If you would like further information please contact us at pac@mvcc.vic.gov.au or 9243 1049.

Last updated: Saturday, 9 September 2017, 1:16 PM