Caring for Carers program

We're offering an exciting new free program to those who care for someone with disability under the age of 65.

Free for Moonee Valley residents.

$5 for non-Moonee Valley residents.

For more information, or if you are interested in attending, please call us on 9243 8888 or disability@mvcc.vic.gov.au

Limited respite assistance available to eligible participants, please contact 9243 8888 for more information.

Relax-ercising group

Come along and meet other carers while increasing your overall health and wellbeing.

Registration and medical consent form to be completed before attendance. Please bring an exercise mat and water bottle.

When: Every Thursday, 6pm - 7.30pm (tea and coffee 7pm - 7.30pm)

Where: Kellaway Avenue Neighbourhood Centre, 5 Kellaway Avenue, Moonee Ponds

Bring: An exercise mat and water bottle

February

  • Thursday, 1 February: Strength training
  • Thursday, 8 February: Strength training
  • Thursday, 15 February: Yoga
  • Thursday, 22 February: Yoga

March

  • Thursday, 1 March: Boxing
  • Thursday, 8 March: Boxing
  • Thursday, 15 March: Pilates
  • Thursday, 22 March: Pilates
  • Thursday, 29 March: Zumba

April

  • Thursday, 5 April: Zumba
  • Thursday, 12 April: Meditation
  • Thursday, 19 April: Meditation
  • Thursday, 26 April: Strength training

May

  • Thursday, 3 May: Strength training
  • Thursday, 10 May: Yoga
  • Thursday, 17 May: Yoga
  • Thursday, 24 May: Boxing
  • Thursday, 31 May: Boxing

June

  • Thursday, 7 June: Pilates
  • Thursday, 14 June: Pilates
  • Thursday, 21 June: Zumba
  • Thursday, 28 June: Zumba

Stronger carers workshops

These workshops are designed to support carers with a toolkit of knowledge and strategies.

When: Runs every second and last Tuesday of the month, 9.30am -11.45am (morning tea provided)  

February

Stress Management

Learn techniques to relax and de-stress.

When: Tuesday, 13 February, 9.30am - 11.45am

Where: Clocktower Centre Pascoe Room South, 750 Mt Alexander Rd, Moonee Ponds

Getting off the rollercoaster

Explore ways to stay connected and communicate constructively when relationships are strained.

When: Tuesday, 27 February, 9.30am - 11.45am

Where: Clocktower Centre Balcony Room, 750 Mt Alexander Rd, Moonee Ponds

March

Changing relationships

Learn how to set and maintain limits and clearly define personal boundaries.

When: Tuesday, 27 March, 9.30am - 11.45am

Where: Clocktower Centre Balcony Room, 750 Mt Alexander Rd, Moonee Ponds

April

Change loss and moving forward

Explore options for dealing with carer grief and ways to move forward.

When: Tuesday, 10 April, 9.30am - 11.45am

Where: Clocktower Centre Balcony Room, 750 Mt Alexander Rd, Moonee Ponds

Being Happy: while caring

Learn how to find joy and laughter again.

When: Tuesday, 24 April, 9.30am - 11.45am

Where: Clocktower Balcony Room, 750 Mt Alexander Rd, Moonee Ponds

May

Carers get angry too

Learn strategies for dealing with your anger and frustration.

When: Tuesday, 8 May, 9.30am - 11.45am

Where: Clocktower Centre Balcony Room, 750 Mt Alexander Rd, Moonee Ponds

Respite without tears

Learn the benefits of taking respite for both the carer and the person being cared for.

When: Tuesday, 22 May, 9.30am - 11.45am

Where: Clocktower Centre Balcony Room, 750 Mt Alexander Rd, Moonee Ponds

June

Enduring Powers of Attorney

Learn about Guardianship and Administration orders and who needs them.

When: Tuesday, 12 June, 9.30am - 11.45am

Where: Clocktower Centre Balcony Room, 750 Mt Alexander Rd, Moonee Ponds 

Last updated: Tuesday, 27 March 2018, 8:50 AM