Incinerator Art Award

Like us on Facebook and sign up to our e-news to stay up to date about future call outs and awards.

2017 Incinerator Art Award: Art For Social Change

Applications are now open and close 5 June, 2017


The Incinerator Art Award is our annual contemporary art prize, open to all visual art forms, with a total non-acquisitive prize pool of $14,000 including:

  • The $10,000 Boathouse Award
  • The $3,000 Incinerator Gallery Award
  • The $1,000 People’s Choice Award

The award is inspired by the original architects of the Incinerator Gallery, Walter Burley Griffin and Marion Mahony. They believed that art and architecture practices are ethical enterprises that should aim to bring about positive social change.

The award is a showcase of artists who interrogate contemporary culture with practices that either overtly engage with activism, or that operate in more subtle ways to achieve their goals.

The award looks to explore ideas around art and agency in contemporary culture while putting the spotlight on artists who relish the responsibility in leading social change.

Works will be selected based on a demonstrated relationship to the theme of the award.

Key dates

Entries open: Friday, 21 April, 2017

Entries close: Monday, 5 June, 2017

Shortlisted artists announced: 31 July

Opening night: Friday, 6 October, 6pm – 8pm

Exhibition dates: 7 October – 26 November

How to enter

Applications for the Incinerator Art Award are now open.

If you have any questions or want to have a look at the space please contact the gallery on (03) 8325 1750 or at

The Incinerator Art Award is sponsored by The Boathouse.


2016 Incinerator Art Award

Shortlisted artists:

Lachlan Anthony, Zanny Begg, Peter Burke, Peter Cheng & Molly Biddle, Kevin Chin, Catherine Clover, Perran Costi, Adam Cusack, Gabrielle de Vietri, Julia deVille, Lauren Dunn, Kailum Graves, Matthew Greaves, Paul Handley, Deanna Hitti, Dominic Kavanagh, Deborah Kelly, Bridget Kennedy, Laresa Kosloff, Kristian Laemmle-Ruff, Ashlee Laing, Ben Landau, Sonia Leber & David Chesworth, Jorge Mansilla, Elyss McCleary, Sarah McEwan, Shane McGrath, Kent Morris, Salar Niknafs, Lani Seligman, Nola Taylor, Frank Veldze, Elvis Richardson & Virginia Fraser, Louisa Wang, Dianna Wells, Bethany Wheeler

Winner $10,000 Boathouse Award:

Zanny Begg, 1001 Nights in Fairfield, 2015, video projection with sound, 17:00min (video still)


Winner $3,000 Incinerator Gallery Award

Lachlan Anthony, Vast Impenetrability, 2015, installation, 600 x 400 x 13cm


Winner, $1,000 People's Choice Award

Bridget Kennedy, Choice Mate - Site 4, 2015, floor and wall installation, beeswax, pigments, soil, found objects, gold leaf, fool's gold, an ounce of gold, bookshelf, book, 1.2m high plinth with instructions, dimensions variable (installation view)


Last updated: Sunday, 30 April 2017, 2:22 PM